Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     

HSS Chairs’ Council

photo(2)
“Chairs” courtesy of Dean Rifkin, Feb. 2015

The HSS Chairs’ Council consists of all department chairs and program directors in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences. The Dean of the School of Humanities and Social Sciences convenes the Chairs’ Council approximately once a month during the academic year while classes are in session (e.g., excluding winter or spring breaks). The Dean consults with the Chairs’ Council on matters of school-wide importance such as operational questions affecting departments, programs, and faculty in the School as well as matters related to the implementation of college-wide policies and the development and implementation of school-wide policies. Accordingly, the Chairs’ Council advises the Dean on all such matters and issues. Members of the Chairs’ Council may request to put an item on the agenda of any given Chairs’ Council meeting and may make recommendations to the Dean on all matters of policy, strategy, and operational planning affecting departments, programs, and faculty in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences. The Dean regularly consults with the Chairs’ Council on any measures suggested by the Governance Advisory Council.

 

HSS Department Chairs and Program Directors 2017-2018

African-American Studies:  Dr. Winnifred Brown-Glaude (wbrown@tcnj.edu)

Classical Studies:  Dr. Holly Haynes (haynes@tcnj.edu)

Criminology:  Dr. Maggie LeigeyBruce Stout (bstout@tcnj.edu)

English: Dr. Glenn Steinberg (gsteinbe@tcnj.edu); questions about matters related to undergraduate student concerns should be directed to Dr. Jean Graham, Associate Chair (graham@tcnj.edu) and questions about matters related to the graduate program should be directed to Dr. Lisa Ortiz-Vilarelle (ortiz@tcnj.edu)

History:  Dr. Cynthia Paces (paces@tcnj.edu)

International Studies:  Dr. Matthew Bender (bender@tcnj.edu)

Philosophy and Religion:  Dr. Melinda Roberts robertsm@tcnj.edu)

Political Science:  Dr. Dan Bowen (bowend@tcnj.edu)

Psychology:  Dr. Jeanine Vivona (vivona@tcnj.edu)

Sociology & Anthropology:  Dr. Miriam Shakow (shakowm@tcnj.edu)

Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies:  Dr. Janet Gray (gray@tcnj.edu)

Women In Leadership and Learning Program:  Professor Mary Lynn Hopps (mlhopps@tcnj.edu)

World Languages & Cultures:  Dr. Joseph Goebel (goebel@tcnj.edu)

 

Ex Officio

Associate Dean of the School of Humanities & Social Sciences:  Dr. Lisa R. Grimm

 

Top