The College of New Jersey Logo

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     Three Bar Menu

HSS Committees


The mission of the School of Humanities and Social Sciences is to prepare students for lifelong learning and responsible democratic citizenship. The dean is responsible for allocating resources to support and advance that mission. To that end, a number of committees and councils advise the dean. In order to contact the chair of any committee or council listed below, contact the Office of the Dean of the School of Humanities and Social Sciences ( or 609-771-3434).

HSS Chairs Council consists of all department chairs and program directors and advises the Dean on school-wide issues and discusses the impact on the School of college-wide procedures and policies.

HSS Curriculum Committee, consisting of 6 faculty, one staff member, and two students, meets once a month to review and approve proposals for new and revised courses and academic programs.

HSS Learning Outcomes Assessment Committee consists of one faculty member from each department and reviews and approves departmental learning outcomes assessment plans and learning outcomes assessment reports.

HSS Student Advisory Council consists of students who are elected senators from HSS in TCNJ’s Student Government. This group discusses matters of importance to students and makes policy recommendations to the Dean. The SAC also discusses matters brought forward by the Dean to share student perspectives on those matters.



School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Social Sciences Building, Room 302
The College of New Jersey
P.O. Box 7718
2000 Pennington Rd.
Ewing, NJ 08628